Subsequent Chapters

My fingers and wrists are sore from finishing NaNoWriMo, tonight.

Am I satisfied with my performance: Hell no!

Quite frankly, I’ve still got at least five more chapters to write before I can hit 62,500 words and a few days more to revise all my hastily written chapters from Remembrance Week and onwards. Still, it gnaws on me that though I could’ve finished in 20–25 days a first draft ready for publication, work, illness, and other things obstructed my progress.

Things I learned this time around:

  • It was great that I kept my structural notes to the bare minimum.
  • Be conservative and just plan a 25–30 chapter novel that can be written everyday.
  • A sophisticated literary novel can be written in just 20–30 days.
  • 2,500 good words can be written every single day.
  • Anything that can go wrong will go wrong, e.g. illness, work, the negotiation of useless cellphone plans, computer problems, family crises every day, annoying and resentful friends, and suddenly falling asleep at 8 PM for no reason except that my body’s a quitter.

Things I’ll do next time:

  • Decline work in November.
  • Buy a new computer that won’t suddenly die during writing.
  • Write every day, even if I’ve got a splitting headache and I’m going to keel over and die.
  • If I start to get the idea of slacking off for a day and catching up later, then it’s time for me to start writing.
  • Save the extensive side research for the second draft, e.g. the Relay 1 satellite, the origins of Rococo Revival architecture.
  • Ignore people who question the value of literacy and literature, especially if they can read.
  • As I’ve written two novels in a row with female protagonists, I should go back to a male.
